Schooled on Fat: What Teens Tell Us About Gender, Body Image, and Obesity

Resources: Parents, Schools & Teens

Teen Support

Body Image and Self Esteem

Pigtail Pals & Ballcap Buddies Blog: http://pigtailpalsblog.com

True Body Project: http://truebodyproject.org

A Beautiful Body Project: http://www.abeautifulbodyproject.org

Adios Barbie: http://www.adiosbarbie.com

Body Image Health: http://bodyimagehealth.org

Kids Health: http://kidshealth.org

Free Your Pits: http://www.freeyourpits.com


Media Literacy

Media Smarts: http://mediasmarts.ca

Shaping Youth: http://www.shapingyouth.org

Project Look Sharp: http://www.projectlooksharp.org

Media Education Foundation: http://www.mediaed.org

Campaign for Commercial Free Childhood: http://www.commercialfreechildhood.org


Gender Literacy

True Child: http://www.truechild.org

The Representation Project: http://therepresentationproject.org

The Youth & Gender Media Project: http://youthandgendermediaproject.org

Gender Spectrum: https://www.genderspectrum.org

Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media: http://seejane.org

The Feminist Wire: http://www.thefeministwire.com

Spark Movement: http://www.sparksummit.com

Pink Stinks: http://www.pinkstinks.org.uk

The Achilles Effect: http://www.achilleseffect.com

Jackson Katz (anti-sexist activist and masculinity expert): http://www.jacksonkatz.com

Gay Alliance Education: http://www.gayalliance.org/programs/education-safezone

It Gets Better Project: http://www.itgetsbetter.org


Wellness Strategies

Alliance for a Healthier Generation: https://www.healthiergeneration.org

Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org


Bullying Prevention

Preventing Bullying and Cyberbullying - A Guide for Students, Educators and School Administrators: http://tobecomeateacher.org/preventing-bullying-cyber-bullying/

Stop Bullying: http://www.stopbullying.gov

National Bullying Prevention Center: http://www.pacer.org/bullying

Cyberbullying Research Center: http://cyberbullying.us